Goals

Aims and tasks of ADÜ Nord

The ADÜ Nord’s overriding aim is to represent the interests of its members as a body of professionals in relation to the state, the business community at large and society. These efforts are also beneficial to all other language professionals based in Germany.

Interpreters and translators fulfil an important task in the whole spectrum of interaction within society. They enable effective communication between individuals of the most different origins and nationalities – in business and politics, in the provision of health care and in culture. Indeed, they facilitate communication everywhere else where the lack of a common language presents an obstacle, be it in private or professional life. In this way, at the point of interaction between different nations and cultural groups, they make a valuable contribution to understanding between people in a globalised world.

This is an accomplishment for which ADÜ Nord wishes to create an awareness among the public at large. That is why it has set itself the goal of informing the community as a whole about language professionals’ activities and their professional profile. Accordingly, for many years the association has been producing publications and organising events, with active publicity also helping to raise levels of awareness in relation to ADÜ Nord members’ work.

ADÜ Nord also maintains constant contact with legislative authorities, courts and other public bodies as well as with other professional associations. The aim is to attain improvement in language professionals’ working conditions and earning opportunities, consistent with the significance of their professional contribution to the effective functioning of the community as a whole.

Beyond its political commitment, ADÜ Nord also acts as a service provider, a link connecting its members with their clients. Thus ADÜ Nord is not solely the contact with regard to its members’ professional affairs. It also makes its services available to those requiring interpreting and translating services and seeking advice in this regard or those looking for a suitable provider of such services.

ADÜ Nord members are automatically part of a top-performance professional network. This opens up interesting opportunities for cooperation as well as for valuable exchanges of views and experiences with professional colleagues. The association additionally has a valued and much-used advisory service for its members. Services offered cover the areas of law, tax and information technology. Also provided are effective advertising, via the internet presence and the directory of members, extensive further training opportunities, as well as more informal occasions to socialise at colleagues’ get-togethers and in various language groups.

Ziele

Ziele und Aufgaben des ADÜ Nord

Das oberste Ziel des ADÜ Nord ist die Vertretung der berufsständischen Interessen seiner Mitglieder gegenüber Staat, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Davon profitieren auch alle anderen Sprachmittlerinnen und Sprachmittler, die in Deutschland ansässig sind.

Dolmetscher(innen) und Übersetzer(innen) erfüllen eine wichtige Aufgabe in den verschiedenen Bereichen des gesellschaftlichen Zusammenlebens. Sie ermöglichen eine effektive Kommunikation zwischen Personen unterschiedlichster Herkunft und Nationalität – in Wirtschaft und Politik, Gesundheitswesen und Kultur. Und auch sonst überall dort, wo das Fehlen einer gemeinsamen Sprache der Verständigung im Wege stehen würde: im privaten wie im geschäftlichen Leben. So leisten sie an der Schnittstelle zwischen allen möglichen Nationen und Kulturkreisen einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Völkerverständigung in einer globalisierten Welt.

Für diese Leistung möchte der ADÜ Nord in der Öffentlichkeit ein Bewusstsein schaffen. Daher hat er es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, die Allgemeinheit über die Tätigkeiten und das Berufsbild von Sprachmittlerinnen und Sprachmittlern zu informieren. So werden seit vielen Jahren Publikationen veröffentlicht und Veranstaltungen angeboten, und eine aktive Öffentlichkeitsarbeit trägt ebenfalls dazu bei, die Arbeit der ADÜ-Nord-Mitglieder bekannter zu machen.

Darüber hinaus hält der ADÜ Nord ständigen Kontakt zu Gesetzgebungsorganen, Behörden und Gerichten sowie zu anderen Berufsverbänden. Hierdurch soll eine Verbesserung der Arbeitsbedingungen und Verdienstmöglichkeiten von Sprachmittlerinnen und Sprachmittlern erreicht werden, wie sie der Bedeutung ihrer Arbeitsleistung für das Funktionieren des Gemeinwesens angemessen ist.

Über das politische Engagement hinaus versteht sich der ADÜ Nord auch als Dienstleister, der als Bindeglied zwischen seinen Mitgliedern und ihren Kunden fungiert. So ist der ADÜ Nord nicht nur Ansprechpartner in den beruflichen Angelegenheiten seiner Mitglieder. Er steht auch denjenigen zur Verfügung, die Dolmetsch- und Übersetzungsleistungen nachfragen und hierzu Beratungsbedarf haben oder auf der Suche nach einem geeigneten Anbieter solcher Leistungen sind.

Mitglieder des ADÜ Nord sind automatisch Teil eines leistungsstarken beruflichen Netzwerks. Dies ermöglicht interessante Kooperationen und einen werthaltigen Austausch mit Berufskolleginnen und -kollegen. Darüber hinaus hält der Verband für seine Mitglieder einen wertvollen und rege genutzten Beratungsservice bereit. Die Angebote umfassen dabei die Bereiche Recht, Steuern und Informationstechnologie. Dazu kommen eine wirksame Werbung über die Internetpräsenz und das Mitgliederverzeichnis, umfangreiche Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten und der eher informelle Austausch bei Kollegentreffen und in diversen Sprachgruppen.